Picture
we went tree climbing on sunday.

ask me how it went.

No. 

Seriously. Ask me how it went.

Ask me how tree climbing in the middle of nowhere Kentucky for a black girl from
Detroit was. 

Ask.

It was...actually a bunch of fun.


I know, right? If you would have told me ahead of time that climbing trees would be as much fun as it was, I probably would have laughed at you and told you the only place I'm climbing is back into bed. But it was surprisingly one of the best experiences I've had here at Ball State, and it was one for the books. I don't even know how to explain it. It was more than just bonding with the cast and crew; it was a test of strength and a beautiful companionship with nature. I didn't even think I could climb the 60 foot tree called Casper. I did not think my legs were strong enough, or that my arms could hold me up, or that the old tree was even sturdy enough for me. I grossly underestimated the strength of nature and what it can give back to you if you give yourself to it. As I watched all of my classmates ascend to the tops of the tree, sitting on branches, hanging in hammocks, attaching plush monkeys to the points they thought others would not reach, I honestly felt at peace.

I know it sounds cliche, but there was an energy surrounding us that I wish I could bottle and keep for the days where my inspirations are not to be found and my esteem is low. On this day, I accomplished more than I thought I would and surprised myself. I climbed three individual ropes- on the lower end of how many we could try- but it was three more than I thought I would. I began remembering how strong my legs were and how efficient my arms could be when I allowed them. There's nothing like sitting 40 feet off of the ground and realizing how small you are compared to everything around you. It was one of the most humbling experiences I have ever taken part in, and the fact that I was doing it all in the name of art really put some things into perspective for me.

I am so ready to do it all again, in all honesty. Not only was it easier than I thought it was going to be, it forced me to really get over myself and step outside of my comfort zone. Watching all my friends problem solve, set goals and engage in friendly competition was not only inspiring but genuine fun to watch. I watched us all support each other and laugh with each other (some of even had to pee in the woods with each other), and that's something I hope to bring not only to this production but to the rest of my work and life. Here’s to a production full of laughter and support and inspiration and change. I’m pretty excited.






Leave a Reply.